Aug 24, 2019  
2017-2018 University Catalog 
2017-2018 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Agricultural Economics (Graduate)

Website URL:

Department/School Head:

Kenneth A. Foster

Academic Programs:

Master’s and Ph.D. Programs

Study towards the master’s and PhD degrees requires instruction in economic theory, quantitative methods and analysis, courses in specialty fields of interest, and completion of research project culminating in a written thesis or dissertation. The PhD degree requires successful completion of a written qualifying exam in microeconomic theory and a written preliminary prospectus exam. Information available here:

Professional Master’s and Doctoral Programs

We offer a Professional Masters in International Agribusiness, a non-thesis degree that can be completed in three semesters of residence plus the summer. Information available at:

Concentrations (Areas of Study):

Agribusiness management, agricultural finance, community development, farm management, industrial organization and markets, international development and policy, international trade, production economics, resources and the environment, and computational science and engineering.

Online/Distance Programs:

Our distance MS/MBA program is jointly administered with the Indiana University Kelly School of Business. It is focused on the unique management challenges faced by managers with food and agribusiness firms. Information available at:

Combined Degree Programs: (Undergraduate Degree / Master’s Degree)

The College of Agriculture offers an integrated degree program that will enable outstanding undergraduates to obtain a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science (thesis option) after the successful completion of both degree requirements. Information here:

Graduate Certificates (Degree or Non-Degree Students):

Residents of Indiana may apply for enrollment as post-baccalaureate non-degree students if they wish to take graduate level course work in agricultural economics, but prefer not to be enrolled in a regular degree program.

Regular Graduate Faculty by Rank:


Philip C. Abbott
Timothy G. Baker
Freddie L. Barnard
Lionel J. Beaulieu
James Binkley
Larry DeBoer
Craig L. Dobbins
Otto C. Doering III
Frank J. Dooley
James S. Eales
Raymond J.G.M. Florax
Kenneth A. Florax
Joan R. Fulton
Allan W. Gray
Gerald A. Harrison
Jason R. Henderson
Thomas W. Hertel
Christopher A. Hurt
John G. Lee
Jess M. Lowenberg-DeBoer
Maria I. Marshall
Marshall A. Martin
Kevin T. McNamara
James R. Mintert
Philip L. Paarlberg
Rhonda G. Phillips
Paul V. Preckel
Kwamena K Quagrainie
John H. Sanders

Associate Professor

Corinne E. N. Alexander
Joseph V. Balagtas
Jennifer L. Dennis
Scott W. Downey
Benjamin M. Gramig
Michael A. Gunderson
Roman M. Keeney

Assistant Professor

Shadi Atallah
Michael S. Delgado
Jacob E. Ricker-Gilbert
Juan P. Sesmero




      Agricultural Economics