Jul 04, 2022  
2020-2021 University Catalog 
2020-2021 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Botany and Plant Pathology (Graduate)

Website URL:


Department/School Head:

Chris Staiger 

Academic Programs:

Master’s and Ph.D. Programs

Our research on plants and microbes helps: protect the environment, apply genetic knowledge to improve plants, manage natural resources, control weeds, and diagnose plant disease.


M.S. and Ph.D. Programs:

  • The Plant Biology Degree Program
  • The Plant Pathology Degree Program
  • The Weed Science Degree Program

Concentrations (Areas of Study):

  • The Plant Biology Degree Program
    • Plant Growth and Development
    • Genetics and Evolution of Plants
    • Plant Cell Biology and Physiology
    • Plant Genomics and Bioinformatics
    • Plant-Pathogen Interactions
  • The Plant Pathology Degree Program
    • Fungal genetics and biology
    • Infection-related morphogenesis
    • Mycotoxins
    • Physiology, genetics and molecular aspects of host-pathogen interactions
    • Epidemiology
    • Plant disease management
    • Biological control
    • Mechanisms of disease resistance
    • Bioinformatics
    • Molecular Virology
  • The Weed Science Degree Program
    • Weed Ecology
    • Herbicide Mode of Action
    • Herbicide Resistance
    • Physiological and Molecular Biology
    • Biological Control
    • Efficacy of Herbicides and Mixtures
    • Sustainable Agriculture
    • Specialized Application Technology
    • Weed Management Systems
    • Invasive Weed Ecology and Control

Regular Graduate Faculty by Rank:


Mary Catherine Aime
Jody Banks
Janna L. Beckerman
Nicholas C. Carpita
Zhixiang Chen
Kevin D. Gibson
Peter B. Goldsbrough
Stephen B. Goodwin
Gurmukh S. Johal
William G. Johnson
Richard Latin
Tesfaye Mengiste
Robert E. Pruitt
Chris Staiger 
Daniel B. Szymanski
Charles P. Woloshuk
Jin-Rong Xu
Bryan G. Young

Associate Professor

Damon R. Lisch
Sue Loesch-Fries
Mchael V. Mickelbart
Mary Alice Webb

Assistant Professor

Leonor Boavida
Guohong Cai
Christian Cruz
Anjali S. Iyer-Pascuzzi
Sharon Kessler
Scott McAdam
Gordon McNickle
Chris Oakley 
Gyeong Mee Yoon
Chunhua Zhang
Yun Zhou

Emeritus Faculty

T. Scott Abney
Ron Coolbaugh
Larry D. Dunkle
Thomas K. Hodges
Don M. Huber
Thomas N. Jordan
Carole Lembi
Ray Martin 
Paul C. Pecknold
Merrill A. Ross
Gregory E. Shaner




      Botany and Plant Pathology