Apr 14, 2024  
2020-2021 University Catalog 
2020-2021 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences (Graduate)

Website URL:


Department/School Head:

Daniel J. Cziczo

Academic Programs:

Master’s and Ph.D. Programs

  • EAPS offers graduate research programs leading to the Master of Science (MS) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees.

    EAPS is a multidisciplinary department in the College of Science offering graduate research programs in  Atmospheric Sciences, Environmental Geoscience, Geodata Science Initiative, Geology and Geophysics, and Planetary Sciences, leading to MS and Ph.D. degrees. Our research incorporates a wide range of innovative observational and experimental techniques in both field and laboratory settings, as well as advanced numerical modeling methods, to address some of the most challenging interdisciplinary questions about the past, present, and future state of the Earth and other planetary systems. These topics of study include processes operating from deep in the interior to the surficial environments of Earth and other planetary bodies, severe weather and climate, energy and environmental resources, hydrology and water resources, and many more. Our former students are now employed by universities, major research institutions, government agencies, and industry.

Research Areas:  

  • Atmospheric Science
  • Environmental Geoscience
  • Geodata Science
  • Geology and Geophysics
  • Planetary Science

Regular Graduate Faculty by Rank:


John Cushman
Daniel Cziczo
Timothy Filley
Lucy Flesch
Andrew Freed
Alexander Gluhovsky
Darryl Granger
Matthew Huber 
Cliff Johnston 
Jay Melosh
Dev Niyogi
Robert L. Nowack
Kenneth D. Ridgway
Douglas Schmitt
Dan Shepardson
Terry R West
Qianlai Zhuang

Associate Professor

Chris Andronicos
Michael Baldwin
Brandon Johnson
Nathaniel A. Lifton
Greg Michalski
David Minton
Wen-wen Tung

Assistant Professor

Ali M. Bramson
Daniel R. Chavas
Daniel T. Dawson
Jonathon Delph
Michael Eddy
Julie Elliott
Marty Frisbee
Briony Horgan
Stephanie Olson
Michael Sori
Robin L. Tanamachi
Michelle Thompson
Marissa Tremblay
Lisa Welp
Xiaotao Yang

Assistant Professor of Practice

Barbara Gibson
Saad Haq
Gouri Prabhakar


Assistant Professor of Practice/Research

Alexandria Johnson

Emeritus Faculty

Ernest Agee
Lawrence Braile
Joseph Francisco
Jon Harbor
Harshvardhan Harshvardhan
William Hinze
Paul Shepson
Yuch-Ning Shieh
Phillip J. Smith
Wen-Yih Sun
Thomas M. Tharp
William Zinsmeister




      Earth Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences