Jun 06, 2023  
2021-2022 University Catalog 
2021-2022 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology (Graduate)

Website URL:


Department/School Head:

Zhong-Yin Zhang

Academic Programs:

Master’s and Ph.D. Programs

Founded in 1869 as a state-supported, land-grant university, Purdue is widely recognized as a worldwide leader in scientific research. Indeed, Purdue is one of the top five universities in the country in numbers of Ph.D. degrees awarded in the pharmaceutical sciences, chemistry, engineering, and agriculture. The Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology is one of the three departments comprising the College of Pharmacy. There are currently over 80 graduate students enrolled in the Department, the vast majority of whom are engaged in studies leading to the Ph.D. degree. The presence of approximately 30 postdoctoral associates and other research staff professionals further enriches the intellectual 

  • Enter the program via Ph.D. only

Concentrations (Areas of Study):

  • Biophysical & Computational Chemistry
  • Cancer Research
  • Immunology & Infectious Disease
  • Medicinal Chemistry & Chemical Biology
  • Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Molecular Pharmacology
  • Neuropharmacology, Neurodegeneration, & Neurotoxicity
  • Systems Biology & Functional Genomics

Regular Graduate Faculty by Rank:


Eric L. Barker
Mark S. Cushman
V. Jo Davisson
Arun K. Ghosh
Gregory H. Hockerman
Chang-Deng Hu
Philip Low
Carol B. Post
Jean-Christophe Rochet
Robert V. Stahelin
Craig K. Svensson
Weiguo Andy Tao
John Tesmer
Val J. Watts
Danzhou Yang
Zhong-Yin Zhang

Associate Professor

Ryan A. Altman
Emily C. Dykhuizen
Tony R. Hazbun
Rong Huang
Andy Hudmon
Douglas J. LaCount
Chiwook Park
Richard M. Van Rijn
Michael K. Wendt

Assistant Professor

Bram Axelrod
Daniel P. Flaherty
Casey J. Krusemark
Seung-Oe Lim
Elizabeth Parkinson
J. Benita Sjogren
Darci Trader
Yang Yang

Emeritus Faculty

Curtis L. Ashendel
Donald E. Bergstrom
Richard F. Borch
Joseph L. Borowitz
Gary P. Carlson
Ching-jer Chang
H. Patrick Fletcher
Robert L. Geahlen
Marietta L. Harrison
Peter F. Heinstein
Gary E. Isom
G. Marc Loudon
Jerry L. McLaughlin
David E. Nichols
James E. Robbers
Charles O. Rutledge




      Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology