Jun 16, 2024  
2018-2019 University Catalog 
2018-2019 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture (Graduate)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Graduate Studies

Website URL:


Department/School Head:

Hazel Y. Wetzstein

Academic Programs:

Master’s and Ph.D. Programs

The Horticulture graduate program offers the thesis-based degrees of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) and Master of Science (M.S.), as well as a non-thesis degree, Master of Science (M.S.).

Concentrations (Areas of Study):

Faculty in the program conduct extramurally-funded research on such topics as:

  • Biotechnology
  • Controlled environment agriculture
  • Plant breeding & genome engineering
  • Plant epigenetics
  • Plant interactions with soil microbial communities
  • Plant mineral nutrition
  • Plant secondary metabolism
  • Postharvest physiology
  • Regulation of plant architecture and reproduction
  • Specialty crop production
  • Stress tolerance in crop plants
  • Turf grass science
  • Weed science & technology

Regular Graduate Faculty by Rank:


Cale A. Bigelow
Bruce P. Bordelon
Ray A. Bressan
Michael N. Dana
Natalia Dudareva
Steve G. Hallett
Avtar K. Handa
P. Michael Hasegawa
Peter M. Hirst
Jules Janick
Robert J. Joly
Cary A. Mitchell
Aaron J. Patton
Kashchandra G. Raghothama
David Rhodes
Robert W. Sovinski
Stephen C. Weller
Hazel Wetzstein
Jian-Kang Zhu

Associate Professor

Bernie L. Dahl
Lori A. Hoagland
Michael V. Mickelbart
Kathryn S. Orvis

Assistant Professor

Hye-Ji Kim
Ying Li
Krishna Nemali
Ariana Torres
Kranthi Varala
Josh Widhalm

Clinical Assistant Professor

Wenjing Guan
Elizabeth Maynard






      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Graduate Studies