Jul 20, 2024  
2018-2019 University Catalog 
2018-2019 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Political Science (Graduate)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Graduate Studies

Website URL:


Department/School Head:

Rosalee A. Clawson (stepping down on 6/30)

Academic Programs:

Master’s and Ph.D. Programs

The Department of Political Science is a Ph.D. granting program.  Students have the opportunity to earn their MA while making academic progress towards PhD.  Our program prepares students for teaching and research careers.  We are dedicated to helping students pursue careers in academic or non-academic positions.

Concentrations (Areas of Study):

  1. American Politics
  2. Comparative Politics
  3. International Relations
  4. Public Policy

Cross-Cutting Areas of Study:

  1. Environmental Policy and Politics
  2. Politics, Groups, and Identities
  3. Political Violence and Human Security

Regular Graduate Faculty by Rank:


Patricia A. Boling
Robert X. Browning
Rosalee A. Clawson
James A. McCann
Leigh S. Raymond
Keith L. Shimko
Harry R. Targ
Eric N. Waltenburg
S. Laurel Weldon
Dwayne Woods

Associate Professor

Nadia E. Brown
Ann Marie Clark
Aaron M. Hoffman
Thomas Mustillo
Valeria Sinclair-Chapman
Mark Tilton

Assistant Professor

Tara Grillos 
Kyle Haynes
David Johnson
Manjana Milkoreit
Molly Scudder
Logan Strother
Swati Srivastava
David Yu
Giancarlo Visconti


    DoctoralMaster’sGraduate Certificate


      Political Science

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Graduate Studies