Oct 06, 2022  
2018-2019 University Catalog 
2018-2019 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

School of Engineering Technology (Graduate)

Website URL:


Department/School Head:

Dr. Kenneth A. Burbank

Graduate Education Committee

Duane D. Dunlap, Chair

Academic Programs:

Master’s and Ph.D. Programs

  • M.S. in Engineering Technology (On Campus)
  • M.S. in Engineering Technology (Online)
  • Ph.D. In Technology with a focus in Engineering Technology

Combined Degree Programs

  • B.S. in Electrical Engineering Technology / M.S. in Engineering Technology
  • B.S. in Mechanical Engineering Technology / M.S. in Engineering Technology

Research Interest Areas:

Faculty within the School of Engineering Technology (SoET) have significant business and industrial experience. The SoET has had faculty involved with the creation of start-up companies within the Purdue Research Park. The on campus master’s program requires nine three-credit courses plus a six-credit thesis if working towards making a research impact. At least Three core courses are required of all students. The remaining courses are chosen by the student working with their major professor/advisor and with the approval of the student’s graduate faculty committee tailored to their research and/or professional ambitions.

Faculty in the School of Engineering Technology have interests for example in the, Metrology, Die Casting, Mechatronics, Robotics, Facilities and Energy Management, Non-destructive testing, Direct Part Marking, Machine Vision, Healthcare, Robotics, Electric Hybrid Vehicles, Analog Circuits and Electronics, Acoustics, and Project Management.

Financial Support:

Teaching assistantships (TA’s) are available to qualified students entering the School of Engineering Technology. The Graduate School offers some fellowships for entering students. Research assistantships (RA’s) are available for advanced, qualified students working directly with SoET faculty.

Regular Graduate Faculty by Rank:


Ragu Athinarayanan
Frederick C. Barry
Ken Burbank
Nancy L. Denton
Duane D. Dunlap
Richard M. French
Qingyou Han
Bradley C. Harriger
William J. Hutzel
James M. Jacob
Kathryne A. Newton
Suranjan Panigrahi
Raji Sundararajan
Richard M. Voyles
Neal S. Widmer

Associate Professors

David Cochran
John P. Denton
Jeffrey J. Evans
Daniel W. Leon-Salas
Jan T. Lugowski
Sarah E. Leach
Helen A. McNally
Haiyan H. Zhang

Assistant Professors

Xiumin Diao
Jose M. Garcia Bravo
Gozdem Kilaz 
Anne M. Lucietto
Brittany A. Newell
Robert A. Nawrocki
Jason Ostanek
Xiaoming Wang

Clinical Assistant Professors

Paul McPherson
Davin Huston
Milan Rakita
Grant P. Richards

Continuing Lecturer

Scott Hutcheson




      Electrical and Computer Engineering TechnologyEngineering TechnologyIndustrial TechnologyMechanical Engineering Technology