Apr 14, 2021  
2016-2017 University Catalog 
2016-2017 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

The Purdue University Graduate School

Mark JT Smith

Dean of Purdue University Graduate School and
Birck Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Advance to a higher degree with the Purdue University Graduate School! Established in 1929, the Graduate School oversees graduate education that includes more than 80 graduate programs at the West Lafayette campus and nearly 30 programs at four regional campuses across the State of Indiana in Fort Wayne, Hammond, Indianapolis, and Westville. The Graduate Council, the faculty body responsible for making academic policies and approving new graduate programs and courses, is under the purview of the Graduate School.


The Graduate School has oversight responsibility for all graduate academic programs, including graduate courses, graduate degrees, and graduate certificates; graduate administrative functions, such as graduate admissions, student records, thesis and dissertation deposits, and graduate interdisciplinary programs; and the Purdue Graduate Student Government.